Tequila Sunrise

Tequila Sunrise (1988)

A business on the line. A friendship on the edge. A woman caught in the middle.

  • Genre: Thriller, Crime, Romance
  • Release Date: 1988-12-02
  • User Rating: 6.0/10 from 486 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 55min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Cinema City Films
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Robert Towne
star 6.0/10
From 486 Ratings



In a seaside California town, best friends Mac and Nick are on opposite sides of the law. Mac is a former drug dealer trying to clean up his act, while Nick is a high-profile detective trying to take down a Mexican drug lord named Carlos. Soon Nick's loyalties are put to the test when he begins an affair with restaurateur Jo Ann -- a love interest of Mac's -- unwittingly leading his friend into a police-orchestrated trap.

Is Tequila Sunrise on Disney Plus?

Unfortunately the movie Tequila Sunrise is not yet available on Disney Plus.

  • Mel Gibson

    as Dale "Mac" McKussic
  • Michelle Pfeiffer

    as Jo Ann Vallenari
  • Kurt Russell

    as Lieutenant Nick Frescia
  • Raúl Juliá

    as Commandante Xavier Escalante
  • J.T. Walsh

    as DEA Agent Hal McGuire
  • Arliss Howard

    as Gregg Lindroff
  • Arye Gross

    as Andy Leonard
  • Gabriel Damon

    as Cody McKussic
  • Daniel Zacapa

    as Arturo, bartender at Vallenari's (credited as Garret Pearson)
  • Tom Nolan

    as Leland
  • Eric Thiele

    as Vittorio
  • Dawn Martel

    as Sin Sister #1
  • Lala Sloatman

    as Sin Sister #2
  • Budd Boetticher

    as Judge Nizetitch
  • Ann Magnuson

    as Shaleen McKussic
  • Kenny Moore

    as Woody
  • Jason Randal

    as Magician
  • Bob Swain

    as Ralph Spudder
  • Jim Bentley

    as Cop
  • Eric Waterhouse

    as Steve
  • Geno Silva

    as Mexican Cop
  • Daniel Ades

    as Pepe
  • Efrain Figueroa

    as Carlos' Man #1
  • Tomás Goros

    as Carlos' Man #2
  • Austin Hawk

    as Lifeguard #1
  • Scott Harms

    as Lifeguard #2
  • Sarah Davis

    as Girl in Restaurant
  • John D. Steele

    as Man at Party
  • David Rees

    as Man in Party
  • Oscar Abadia

    as Self - KLVE
  • Jim Ladd

    as Self - KMPC
  • Tom Schnabel

    as Self - KCRW
  • Sharmagne Leland-St. John

    as Woman in Phone Booth (uncredited)
Directing Robert Towne Director
Writing Robert Towne Screenplay
Production Thom Mount Producer
Camera Conrad L. Hall Director of Photography
Sound Dave Grusin Original Music Composer
Editing Claire Simpson Editor
Production Bonnie Timmermann Casting
Costume & Make-Up Julie Weiss Costume Design
Art Richard Sylbert Production Design
Art Peter Landsdown Smith Art Direction
Art Rick Simpson Set Decoration
Art Roger Irvin Construction Coordinator
Crew Ron Frazier Carpenter
Art Judy Cammer Set Designer
Costume & Make-Up Ronald I. Caplan Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Peter V. Saldutti Costume Supervisor
Directing Mary A. Kelly Script Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Toni-Ann Walker Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Dorothy J. Pearl Makeup Artist
Camera Jamie Anderson Camera Operator
Camera Lee Nakahara Camera Operator
Camera John Toll Second Unit Director of Photography
Camera Randy Nolen Steadicam Operator
Camera François Duhamel Still Photographer
Camera Robert Seaman Second Unit Director of Photography
Lighting Patrick Marshall Rigging Gaffer
Camera Tom May Key Grip
Camera Danny Jimenez Dolly Grip
Production Sharmagne Leland-St. John Researcher
Sound James Simcik ADR Editor
Sound Randall L. Johnson Boom Operator
Sound Ellen Heuer Foley
Sound John Roesch Foley
Sound Butch Wolf Foley Editor
Sound Jack Schrader Foley Editor
Sound Solange S. Schwalbe Foley Editor
Sound Robert J. Litt Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Greg P. Russell Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Gordon Davidson Sound Editor
Sound Richard Oswald Sound Editor
Sound Victoria Rose Sampson Sound Editor
Sound Chester Slomka Sound Editor
Sound Jayme S. Parker Sound Editor
Sound James J. Isaacs Sound Editor
Sound William C. Carruth Supervising ADR Editor
Sound Kay Rose Supervising Sound Editor
Lighting Larry Gilhooly Chief Lighting Technician
Sound James Flamberg Music Editor
Sound Danny Bramson Music Supervisor
Crew David S. Cass Sr. Stunt Coordinator
Crew Bobby Bass Stunt Coordinator
Production Tom Shaw Executive Producer
Production Tom Shaw Unit Production Manager
Crew Jay Cassidy Post Production Supervisor
Sound Dan O'Connell ADR Mixer
Crew Jerry D. Williams Special Effects
Art Dan Perri Title Designer
Crew Dick Ziker Stunts
Crew Tim Gilbert Stunts
Crew Freddie Hice Stunts
Crew Andy Gill Stunts
Crew Jack Gill Stunts
Crew Gregory J. Barnett Stunts
Crew Mic Rodgers Stunt Double
Camera Robert Samuels Second Assistant Camera
Crew Dick Warlock Stunt Double
Crew Michael McDonnell Stand In