Superman IV: The Quest for Peace

Superman IV: The Quest for Peace (1987)

Nuclear Power. In the best hands, it is dangerous. In the hands of Lex Luthor, it is pure evil. This is Superman's greatest battle. And it is for all of us.

  • Genre: Action, Adventure, Science Fiction
  • Release Date: 1987-07-24
  • User Rating: 4.549/10 from 1045 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 30min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Warner Bros. Pictures
  • Production Country: United Kingdom, United States of America
  • Director: Sidney J. Furie
star 4.549/10
From 1,045 Ratings


With global superpowers engaged in an increasingly hostile arms race, Superman leads a crusade to rid the world of nuclear weapons. But Lex Luthor, recently sprung from jail, is declaring war on the Man of Steel and his quest to save the planet. Using a strand of Superman's hair, Luthor synthesizes a powerful ally known as Nuclear Man and ignites an epic battle spanning Earth and space.


Is Superman IV: The Quest for Peace on Disney Plus?

Unfortunately the movie Superman IV: The Quest for Peace is not yet available on Disney Plus. Follow us on Facebook to see when Superman IV: The Quest for Peace becomes available on Disney Plus!

  • Christopher Reeve

    as Superman / Clark Kent
  • Margot Kidder

    as Lois Lane
  • Gene Hackman

    as Lex Luthor
  • Jackie Cooper

    as Perry White
  • Marc McClure

    as Jimmy Olsen
  • Jon Cryer

    as Lenny
  • Sam Wanamaker

    as David Warfield
  • Mariel Hemingway

    as Lacy Warfield
  • Mark Pillow

    as Nuclear Man
  • Damian McLawhorn

    as Jeremy
  • William Hootkins

    as Harry Howler
  • Jim Broadbent

    as Jean Pierre Dubois
  • Stanley Lebor

    as General Romoff
  • Don Fellows

    as Levon Hornsby
  • Robert Beatty

    as U.S. President
  • Bradley Lavelle

    as Tall Marshall
  • Mac McDonald

    as Marshall #2
  • Steve Plytas

    as Russian General #2
  • Czeslaw Grocholski

    as Russian General 1
  • John Hollis

    as Russian General 3 (Kremlin)
  • Bob Sherman

    as Senator - Pentagon
  • Eiji Kusuhara

    as U.N. Guard - Japanese
  • Yuri Borienko

    as Russian General - Red Square
  • Boris Isarov

    as Cosmonaut Captain
  • Dorota Zięciowska

    as Cosmonaut
  • Jayne Brook

    as Teacher - JFK High School
  • Susannah York

    as Lara (voice)
  • Diana Hunter

    as Museum Tour Guide
  • Indira Joshi

    as Secretary General U.N.
  • Jiří Stanislav

    as Cosmonaut
  • Ron Travis

    as Convict
  • Matthew Freeman

    as Submariner
  • Douglas W. Iles

    as Chief of Staff
  • Ted Maynard

    as Army Chief
  • Raymond Marlowe

    as Navy Chief
  • John Cagon

    as Technician
  • Malcolm Bullivant

    as U.N. Guard - Swedish
  • Mark Caven

    as Priest - Boystown
  • Nicholas Colicos

    as Paul - Metro Sports Club
  • David Garth

    as First Elder
  • Esmond Knight

    as Second Elder
  • Keith Edwards

    as Technician - Fort Mason
  • Eugene Lipinski

    as Cosmonaut - Space Walker
  • Dennis Creaghan

    as Bill Compton
  • Philip Fox

    as Husband - Great Wall of China
  • Jimmy Fung

    as Chinese Official - Great Wall of China
  • Guinevere John

    as Tourist - Great Wall of China
  • Peter Penry-Jones

    as Tourist - Great Wall of China
  • Witold Schejbal

    as Russian Premiere
  • Rex Robinson

    as Engineer - Subway
  • Kerry Shale

    as MBC Newscaster
  • Samantha Weysom

    as Lex Luther Girlfriend (uncredited)
  • Kenneth Coombs

    as Reporter (uncredited)
Sound Alexander Courage Original Music Composer
Writing Lawrence Konner Screenplay
Writing Lawrence Konner Story
Writing Mark Rosenthal Screenplay
Writing Mark Rosenthal Story
Editing John Shirley Editor
Costume & Make-Up John Bloomfield Costume Design
Crew Tina Maskell Stunts
Art John Graysmark Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Stuart Freeborn Makeup Department Head
Writing Christopher Reeve Story
Production Menahem Golan Producer
Production Yoram Globus Producer
Writing Jerry Siegel Characters
Writing Joe Shuster Characters
Camera Ernest Day Director of Photography
Directing Sidney J. Furie Director
Crew Alf Joint Stunt Coordinator
Production Michael J. Kagan Executive Producer
Production Graham Easton Associate Producer
Crew Sarah Franzl Stunts
Crew Elaine Ford Stunts