Boys Don't Cry

Boys Don't Cry (1999)

A true story about finding the courage to be yourself.

  • Genre: Crime, Drama
  • Release Date: 1999-09-02
  • User Rating: 7.4/10 from 1288 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 58min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: IFC Films
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Kimberly Peirce
star 7.4/10
From 1,288 Ratings



A young transgender man explores his gender identity and searches for love in rural Nebraska.

Is Boys Don't Cry on Disney Plus?

Yes! The movie Boys Don't Cry is now on Disney Plus in the countries listed below.

  • Hilary Swank

    as Brandon Teena
  • Chloë Sevigny

    as Lana Tisdel
  • Peter Sarsgaard

    as John Lotter
  • Brendan Sexton III

    as Tom Nissen
  • Alicia Goranson

    as Candace
  • Alison Folland

    as Kate
  • Jeannetta Arnette

    as Lana's Mom
  • Rob Campbell

    as Brian
  • Matt McGrath

    as Lonny
  • Cheyenne Rushing

    as Nicole
  • Robert Prentiss

    as Trucker
  • Josh Ridgway

    as Kwik Stop Cashier
  • Craig Erickson

    as Trucker in Kwik Stop
  • Stephanie Sechrist

    as April
  • Jerry Haynes

    as Judge
  • Lou Perryman

    as Sheriff
  • Lisa Renee Wilson

    as Pam
  • Jackson D. Kane

    as Sam Phillips
  • Joseph Gibson

    as Tom
  • Michael Tripp

    as Nerdy Teen
  • Shana McClendon

    as Girl in Car
  • Libby Villari

    as Nurse
  • Paige Carl Griggs

    as Dave (Deputy)
  • Gail Cronauer

    as Clerk
  • Guilford Adams

    as Brandon's Father (uncredited)
  • Christophe Dahlkvist

    as Truck Driver (uncredited)
  • Taylor Eaves

    as Toddler (uncredited)
  • Michelle Fairbanks

    as Girl in Car (uncredited)
  • Gabriel Horn

    as Lester (uncredited)
  • Gavin Perry

    as Deputy (uncredited)
  • Robert A. Steffenino

    as Bartender (uncredited)
  • Caitlin Wehrle

    as Valley Girl (uncredited)
Editing Tracy Granger Editor
Art Michael Shaw Production Design
Production Pamela Koffler Executive Producer
Sound Nathan Larson Original Music Composer
Editing Lee Percy Editor
Production Jon Marcus Line Producer
Production Caroline Kaplan Executive Producer
Production Jeffrey Sharp Producer
Production Christine Vachon Producer
Directing Kimberly Peirce Director
Camera Jim Denault Director of Photography
Production John N. Hart Producer
Production Eva Kolodner Producer
Production Jonathan Sehring Executive Producer
Production Jill Footlick Line Producer
Production John Sloss Executive Producer
Production Jennifer McNamara Casting
Production Suzanne Smith Crowley Casting
Costume & Make-Up Vicki Farrell Costume Design
Production Kerry Barden Casting
Art Shawn Carroll Art Direction
Production Billy Hopkins Casting
Writing Kimberly Peirce Writer
Writing Andy Bienen Writer
Production Morton Swinsky Co-Producer
Production Brad Simpson Associate Producer
Costume & Make-Up Angela Angel Makeup & Hair
Costume & Make-Up Jane Choi Key Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Jeff Francis Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Kalen Hoyle Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Renee Lecuyer Makeup & Hair
Costume & Make-Up Kerrie R. Plant Makeup & Hair
Crew Russell Towery Stunt Coordinator
Crew Tim Buchanan Stunts
Crew Jack Bennett Special Effects
Crew Ben Loggins Stunt Coordinator
Crew Diane Towery Stunts
Directing Jim LaClair First Assistant Director