The Finest Hours

The Finest Hours (2016)

32 survivors, room for 12.

  • Genre: Action, Drama, History, Thriller
  • Release Date: 2016-01-27
  • User Rating: 6.6/10 from 1510 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 57min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Red Hawk Entertainment
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Craig Gillespie
star 6.6/10
From 1,510 Ratings



The Coast Guard makes a daring rescue attempt off the coast of Cape Cod after a pair of oil tankers are destroyed during a blizzard in 1952.

Is The Finest Hours on Disney Plus?

Yes! The movie The Finest Hours is now on Disney Plus in the countries listed below.

Watch on Disney Plus
  • Chris Pine

    as Bernie Webber
  • Casey Affleck

    as Ray Sybert
  • Ben Foster

    as Richard Livesey
  • Eric Bana

    as Daniel Cluff
  • Holliday Grainger

    as Miriam Webber
  • John Ortiz

    as Wallace Quirey
  • Kyle Gallner

    as Andy Fitzgerald
  • John Magaro

    as Ervin Maske
  • Graham McTavish

    as Frank Fauteux
  • Michael Raymond-James

    as D.A. Brown
  • Beau Knapp

    as Mel Gouthro
  • Josh Stewart

    as Tchuda Southerland
  • Abraham Benrubi

    as George 'Tiny' Myers
  • Keiynan Lonsdale

    as Eldon Hanan
  • Rachel Brosnahan

    as Bea Hansen
  • Benjamin Koldyke

    as Donald Bangs
  • Matthew Maher

    as Carl Nickerson
  • Jesse Gabbard

    as Domingo Garcia
  • Alexander Cook

    as John Stello
  • Danny Connelly

    as Dave Ryder
  • Angela Hope Smith

    as Catherine Paine
  • John Franchi

    as Fisherman at Bar
  • Lance Norris

    as Fisherman (uncredited)
  • Michael Maggiani

    as Bell Telephone Supervisor
Camera Javier Aguirresarobe Director of Photography
Writing Scott Silver Screenplay
Sound Carter Burwell Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up Louise Frogley Costume Design
Editing Tatiana S. Riegel Editor
Production Mindy Marin Casting
Art Michael Corenblith Production Design
Art William Ladd Skinner Supervising Art Director
Sound Mark P. Stoeckinger Supervising Sound Editor
Costume & Make-Up Brenda McNally Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Mary L. Mastro Hair Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Trish Seeney Makeup Artist
Production Jim Whitaker Producer
Directing Craig Gillespie Director
Production Kara Lipson Casting Associate
Editing Stefan Sonnenfeld Digital Intermediate
Production Dorothy Aufiero Producer
Camera Peter Zuccarini Underwater Camera
Sound Albert Gasser Sound Effects Editor
Sound Dean A. Zupancic Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Writing Paul Tamasy Screenplay
Writing Eric Johnson Screenplay
Crew Peter Epstein Stunts
Crew Tim Trella Stunt Double
Art Susan Benjamin Set Decoration
Sound Andy Koyama Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Aaron Vexler Stunts
Crew Mariusz Kubicki Stunt Double
Sound Luke Gibleon Foley Editor
Production Douglas C. Merrifield Executive Producer
Crew Airon Armstrong Stunt Double
Costume & Make-Up Aimee McCue Set Costumer
Art Joseph Kearney Construction Coordinator
Sound Dan O'Connell Foley
Art Lorrie Campbell Set Designer
Sound Adam Milo Smalley Music Editor
Art Clint Wallace Set Designer
Sound Tim Walston Sound Effects Editor
Lighting Mark J. Casey Rigging Gaffer
Crew Evan Dane Taylor Stunt Double
Sound John T. Cucci Foley
Art Robert Andrew Johnson Set Designer
Art Bria Kinter Set Designer
Sound Daniel S. Irwin Dialogue Editor
Sound Daniel S. Irwin Supervising ADR Editor
Art Masako Masuda Set Designer
Sound Daniel Saxlid Dialogue Editor
Camera Claire Folger Still Photographer
Art Steven M. Saylor Set Designer
Costume & Make-Up Beau Desmond Set Costumer
Visual Effects Felix Crawshaw Visual Effects Producer
Art David Gulick Property Master
Camera Brian Heller Helicopter Camera
Costume & Make-Up Linda Kaufman Makeup Artist
Visual Effects Tom Driscoll VFX Editor
Editing Joe Ken Digital Intermediate
Visual Effects Aaron Weintraub Visual Effects Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Whitney James Makeup Department Head
Art Cameron Matheson Leadman
Sound John Sanacore Foley
Costume & Make-Up Raul Hernandez Hairstylist
Lighting Scott D. Davis Gaffer
Crew Chris Ryan CG Supervisor
Camera Seacia Pavao Additional Still Photographer
Costume & Make-Up Desne J. Holland Makeup Artist
Visual Effects Garrett Wilson VFX Editor
Art Samantha Avila Assistant Art Director
Costume & Make-Up Joe Rossi Makeup Artist
Visual Effects Tom Goodenough Animation Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Donna Casey-Aira Costume Supervisor
Visual Effects Mark Hawker Special Effects Supervisor
Crew Chris Kowal Visual Effects Editor
Directing Diane Durant Script Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Juliet Loveland Makeup Artist
Editing Daniel Boccoli First Assistant Editor
Crew Caroline Vexler Stunt Double
Art J.M. Hunter Art Department Coordinator
Editing Annie Johnson Digital Intermediate
Crew Dan Marshall Choreographer
Writing Casey Sherman Book
Writing Michael J. Tougias Book
Crew Dave Reaves Stunt Double
Costume & Make-Up Parrish Kennington Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Paula Dion Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Rebecca Woodfork Hairstylist
Camera Jamie Alac Camera Operator
Lighting Phil Darrell Gaffer
Crew Adriano Rinaldi CG Supervisor
Crew Paul Wishart CG Supervisor
Crew Gong Myung Lee CG Supervisor
Visual Effects Aaron Deerfield Animation
Visual Effects Ran Sieradzki Animation
Crew Steve Bobertz Visual Effects Editor
Crew Danny Singh Visual Effects Editor
Crew Thomas MacKenzie Visual Effects Editor
Visual Effects Paul V. Molles Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Kevin T. Hahn Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Seth Maury Visual Effects Supervisor
Crew Craig Tex Barnett Special Effects Coordinator
Production Stephani DeLuca Researcher
Lighting Christopher Ferguson Lighting Programmer
Crew Thomas La Marche Stunt Double
Crew Josh Vinyard Stunt Double
Editing Jered Zalman Assistant Editor
Crew Pete Klein Stunt Double
Crew Matt Emig Stunt Double
Crew Edward Gabree Stunt Double
Visual Effects Shaila Tobin Animation