The Thing

The Thing (2011)

It's Not Human. Yet.

  • Genre: Horror, Science Fiction, Mystery, Thriller
  • Release Date: 2011-10-12
  • User Rating: 6.19/10 from 2480 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 43min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America, Canada
  • Director: Matthijs van Heijningen Jr.
star 6.19/10
From 2,480 Ratings


When paleontologist Kate Lloyd travels to an isolated outpost in Antarctica for the expedition of a lifetime, she joins an international team that unearths a remarkable discovery. Their elation quickly turns to fear as they realize that their experiment has freed a mysterious being from its frozen prison. Paranoia spreads like an epidemic as a creature that can mimic anything it touches will pit human against human as it tries to survive and flourish in this spine-tingling thriller.


Is The Thing on Disney Plus?

Unfortunately the movie The Thing is not yet available on Disney Plus. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Thing becomes available on Disney Plus!

  • Mary Elizabeth Winstead

    as Kate Lloyd
  • Joel Edgerton

    as Sam Carter
  • Ulrich Thomsen

    as Dr. Sander Halvorson
  • Eric Christian Olsen

    as Adam Finch
  • Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje

    as Derek Jameson
  • Trond Espen Seim

    as Edvard Wolner
  • Kim Bubbs

    as Juliette
  • Jørgen Langhelle

    as Lars
  • Jan Gunnar Røise

    as Olav
  • Stig Henrik Hoff

    as Peder
  • Kristofer Hivju

    as Jonas
  • Carsten Bjørnlund

    as Karl
  • Jonathan Walker

    as Colin
  • Jo Adrian Haavind

    as Henrik
  • Ole Martin Aune Nilsen

    as Heli Pilot
  • Paul Braunstein

    as Griggs
  • Michael Brown

    as Security Guard
Production Denise Chamian Casting
Sound Marco Beltrami Original Music Composer
Sound Marco Beltrami Music
Editing Frank J. Urioste Additional Editor
Editing Peter Boyle Editor
Art Sean Haworth Production Design
Production Diane Kerbel Casting
Production Marc Abraham Producer
Production Eric Newman Producer
Sound Scott A. Hecker Supervising Sound Editor
Art Jeremy Stanbridge Art Direction
Production J. Miles Dale Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Luis Sequeira Costume Design
Camera Michel Abramowicz Director of Photography
Crew Colin Decker Stunts
Editing Julian Clarke Editor
Writing Eric Heisserer Writer
Sound Eric A. Norris Sound Effects Editor
Editing Jono Griffith Editor
Editing Jono Griffith Additional Editor
Sound Nerses Gezalyan Sound Mixer
Art Patrick Banister Art Direction
Art Kyle Cooper Title Designer
Visual Effects Dennis Berardi Visual Effects Supervisor
Production Angela Demo Casting
Crew Al Vrkljan Armorer
Camera Gilles Corbeil Camera Operator
Lighting Robert McRae Gaffer
Costume & Make-Up Linda Dowds Key Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Lindsay Jacobs Assistant Costume Designer
Art Odetta Stoddard Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Suzanne Aplin Costume Supervisor
Art Yasmyn Lee Art Department Coordinator
Sound Jason McFarling Boom Operator
Directing Dug Rotstein Script Supervisor
Crew John MacDonald Stunts
Art Joseph Hiura Set Designer
Sound Bob Beemer Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Visual Effects Petra Holtorf Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Jesper Kjölsrud Visual Effects Supervisor
Sound Jon Taylor Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Rick Forsayeth Stunt Coordinator
Camera Hans Bjerno Aerial Director of Photography
Art William Cheng Set Designer
Camera Dino Laurenza Camera Operator
Art David G. Fremlin Set Designer
Camera Mark Hryma Aerial Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Stacey Butterworth Wigmaker
Editing Harry Muller Color Timer
Sound Thomas Jones Supervising ADR Editor
Visual Effects Jordu Schell Character Designer
Art Marc Kuitenbrouwer Construction Coordinator
Crew Warren Appleby Special Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Wilson Cameron Visual Effects Producer
Editing Lara Johnston Assistant Editor
Visual Effects Alexander Vegh Pre-Visualization Supervisor
Sound Elliott Koretz Supervising Sound Editor
Crew Jamie Jones Stunt Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Paul R.J. Elliot Key Hair Stylist
Visual Effects Pam Hammarlund Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects David Burton Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Aaron Weintraub Visual Effects Supervisor
Art Doug Slater Set Designer
Visual Effects Jerad Marantz Character Designer
Writing John W. Campbell Jr. Story
Costume & Make-Up Justin Ditter Key Hair Stylist
Visual Effects Rene Toye Visual Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Jeremy Stewart Animation
Directing Clay Staub Second Unit Director
Visual Effects Michael Broom Creature Design
Sound Mark Jan Wlodarkiewicz Music Editor
Sound Wade Barnett ADR Recordist
Sound Michael Miller ADR Mixer
Sound Travis MacKay ADR Mixer
Visual Effects Blaine Lougheed Visual Effects Coordinator
Directing R. Emerson John Script Supervisor
Visual Effects Rachel Faith Hanson Visual Effects Coordinator
Sound Glen Gauthier Sound Mixer
Camera Joseph Micomonaco First Assistant Camera
Editing Cam McLauchlin Assistant Editor
Crew Dustin Brooks Stunts
Visual Effects Lyndon Barrois Animation Supervisor
Visual Effects Vera Zivny Visual Effects Producer
Lighting Kevin Barnes Electrician
Sound Steve Switzer Boom Operator
Crew Duncan McLeod Stunts
Editing Patrick Gallagher First Assistant Editor
Directing Matthijs van Heijningen Jr. Director
Visual Effects Laetitia Seguin Visual Effects Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Wayne Godfrey Key Costumer
Lighting Byrd Dickens Best Boy Electric
Visual Effects Harrison Marks Visual Effects Coordinator
Crew Billy Oliver Stunts
Crew Blair Johannes Stunts
Lighting Marek Krawczyk Lighting Technician
Art Paul Greenberg Graphic Designer
Crew Chad Camilleri Stunts
Crew Scott Alan Cook Stunts
Crew Alicia Turner Stunts
Lighting Mongo Andrews Rigging Grip
Lighting Mongo Andrews Key Rigging Grip
Sound Jesse Dodd ADR Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Karen Eppstadt Ager/Dyer
Crew Jane Conway Animal Wrangler
Crew Violetta Hessing Animal Wrangler
Crew Cam Harrod Aerial Coordinator
Crew Neil Eskuri Digital Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Ken Steel Lead Animator
Visual Effects Neil Impey Visual Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Vivien Hulbert Visual Effects Coordinator
Lighting Kevin Craine Lighting Technician
Art John Moran Graphic Designer
Sound Doug Johnston Sound Mixer
Sound Josephine Nericcio Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Rhys Maitland-Jones Sound Mix Technician
Camera Ciaran Copelin First Assistant Camera
Sound Roderick Matte Sound Mixer
Visual Effects Aaron Sims Character Designer
Lighting Jason E. Hamilton Electrician
Lighting Doug Reid Best Boy Electric
Crew Liise Keeling Stunts
Crew Patrick Mark Stunts
Camera Stephen Butson First Assistant Camera
Sound Brandon Prodger ADR Mixer
Sound Tim West ADR Mixer
Editing Alain J. Romi Assistant Editor