The Music Room

The Music Room (1958)

  • Genre: Drama, Music
  • Release Date: 1958-10-10
  • User Rating: 7.5/10 from 141 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 40min
  • Language: বাংলা
  • Production Company: Arora
  • Production Country: India
  • Director: Satyajit Ray
star 7.5/10
From 141 Ratings



A wealthy landlord lives a decadent life with his wife and son. His passion – his wife would calls it his addiction – is music, and he spends a great deal of his fortune on concerts held for the locals in his magnificent music room. He feels threatened by his neighbour, a commoner who has attained riches through business dealings. His passion for music and quest for social respect are his undoing, as he sacrifices his family and wealth trying to retain it.

Is The Music Room on Disney Plus?

Unfortunately the movie The Music Room is not yet available on Disney Plus.

  • Chhabi Biswas

    as Biswambhar Roy
  • Kali Sarkar

    as Anantha
  • Tulsi Lahiri

    as Prashanna
  • Gangapada Basu

    as Mahim Ganguli
  • Padmadevi

    as Mahamaya Roy
  • Pinaki Sengupta

    as Khoka Roy
  • Begum Akhtar

    as Durga Bai
  • Waheed Khan

    as Ujir Khan
  • Roshan Kumari

    as Krishna Bai
  • Sardar Akhtar

    as Singer
  • Bismillah Khan

    as Musician
  • Dakshinamohan Thakur

    as Musician
  • Ashish Kumar

    as Musician
  • Robin Mazumdar

    as Musician
  • Imrat Khan

    as Sitar Player
  • Salamat Ali Khan

    as Khyal singer
  • Tarapada Nandy

Directing Satyajit Ray Director
Writing Tarasankar Bandyopadhyay Novel
Sound Ustad Vilayat Khan Original Music Composer
Sound Robin Majumder Original Music Composer
Camera Subrata Mitra Director of Photography
Editing Dulal Dutta Editor
Art Bansi Chandragupta Production Design
Production Satyajit Ray Producer
Art Bansi Chandragupta Art Direction
Production Anil Choudhury Production Manager
Directing Nityananda Datta Assistant Director
Directing Shailen Dutta Assistant Director
Directing Tapeshwar Prasad Assistant Director
Sound Durgadas Mitra Sound
Writing Satyajit Ray Screenplay
Writing Santi P. Choudhury Writer
Crew Roshan Kumari Choreographer