Anne of Green Gables

Anne of Green Gables (1979)

  • Genre: Animation, Drama
  • First Air Date: 1979-01-07
  • Last Air Date: 1979-12-30
  • Total Seasons: 1
  • Total Episodes: 50
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 24 min.
  • Production Company: Nippon Animation
  • Production Country: Japan
  • Networks: Fuji TV
  • Director: Shigeo Koshi
star 8.25/10
From 18 Ratings


Anne Shirley is a freckle-faced, red-haired girl, who grows up in an orphanage having lost her parents at a very early age. Anne is always cheerful and fun-loving despite being brought up without love or affection. When she turns 10, she is adopted by the old farmer Matthew Cuthbert and his sister Marilla. Anne starts her new life with Matthew and Marilla at a farm called "Green Gables", but actually the Cuthberts wanted a boy who could help with their work on the farm... Overcoming many hardships and meeting many friends and people, Anne grows up to be a strong-minded woman.


Is Anne of Green Gables on Disney Plus?

Unfortunately the series Anne of Green Gables is not yet available on Disney Plus. Follow us on Facebook to see when Anne of Green Gables becomes available on Disney Plus!

Anne of Green Gables Seasons

Season 1

First Air Date: 1979-01-07
50 Episodes

Anne of Green Gables Episodes

Title Air Date Duration
Season 1Episode 1Episode 1120 min
Season 1Episode 2Episode 2120 min
Season 2Episode 1Episode 1120 min
Season 2Episode 2Episode 2120 min
Season 3Episode 1Episode 1120 min
Season 3Episode 2Episode 2120 min
Season 4Episode 1Episode 1120 min
Season 4Episode 2Episode 2120 min
  • Sanae Takagi

    as Jane
  • Eiko Hisamura

    as Anne Shirley
  • Kazuhiko Inoue

    as Gilbert Blythe
  • Ryūji Saikachi

    as Matthew Cuthbert
  • Fumie Kitahara

    as Marilla Cuthbert
  • Gara Takashima

    as Diana Barry
  • Michiko Hirai

    as Mrs. Amelia Evans
  • Reiko Mutoh

    as Mrs. Elizabeth Barry
  • Yoku Shioya

    as Moody Spurgeon
  • Miyoko Asô

    as Rachel Lynde
  • Chiyoko Kawashima

    as Tilly Boulter
  • Hiroko Suzuki

    as Muriel Stacey
  • Kazuyuki Sogabe

    as Minister Allan
  • Kimiko Tsuruta

    as Sophia Sloane
  • Eisuke Yoda

    as Mr. Barry
  • Kazuyo Aoki

    as Charlie Sloane
  • Motomu Kiyokawa

    as Teddy Philips
  • Rihoko Yoshida

    as Flora Jane Spencer
  • Ritsuo Sawa

    as Martin
  • Junko Hori

    as Josie Pye
Art Masahiro Ioka Art Direction
Writing Shigeki Chiba Writer
Writing Seijiro Kamiyama Writer
Writing Yoshihisa Araki Writer
Writing Aiko Isomura Writer
Writing Takekuni Takano Writer
Sound Kurodo Mori Original Music Composer
Production Kōichi Motohashi Producer
Writing Lucy Maud Montgomery Author
Art Hayao Miyazaki Settings
Art Michiyo Sakurai Settings
Visual Effects Yoshifumi Kondō Character Designer
Camera Keishichi Kuroki Director of Photography
Sound Yasuo Uragami Recording Supervision
Editing Akiko Koyama Color Grading
Editing Michiyo Yasuda Color Grading
Production Shigeō Endo Producer
Production Junzô Nakajima Producer
Directing Shigeo Koshi Director
Directing Isao Takahata Series Director
Writing Isao Takahata Series Composition