Four Star Playhouse

Four Star Playhouse (1952)

  • Genre: Drama, Comedy
  • First Air Date: 1952-09-25
  • Last Air Date: 1956-07-26
  • Total Seasons: 4
  • Total Episodes: 129
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 30 min.
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Networks: CBS
star 7/10
From 1 Ratings


Four Star Playhouse is an American television anthology series that ran from 1952 to 1956, sponsored in its first bi-weekly season by The Singer Company; Bristol-Myers became an alternate sponsor when it became a weekly series in the fall of 1953. The original premise was that Charles Boyer, Ida Lupino, David Niven, and Dick Powell would take turns starring in episodes. However, several other performers took the lead from time to time, including Ronald Colman and Joan Fontaine. Blake Edwards was among the writers and directors who contributed to the series. Edwards created the recurring character of illegal gambling house operator Willie Dante for Dick Powell to play on this series. The character was later revamped and spun off in his own series starring Howard Duff, then-husband of Lupino. The pilot for Meet McGraw, starring Frank Lovejoy, aired here, as did another episode in which Lovejoy recreated his role of Chicago newspaper reporter Randy Stone, from the radio drama Nightbeat.


Is Four Star Playhouse on Disney Plus?

Unfortunately the series Four Star Playhouse is not yet available on Disney Plus. Follow us on Facebook to see when Four Star Playhouse becomes available on Disney Plus!

Four Star Playhouse Seasons

Season 1

First Air Date: 1952-09-25
19 Episodes

Season 2

First Air Date: 1953-09-24
31 Episodes

Season 3

First Air Date: 1954-09-30
38 Episodes

Season 4

First Air Date: 1955-10-06
41 Episodes

Four Star Playhouse Episodes

Title Air Date Duration
Season 1Episode 1My Wife Geraldine30 min
Season 1Episode 2Dante's Inferno30 min
Season 1Episode 3The Lost Silk Hat30 min
Season 1Episode 4Backstage30 min
Season 1Episode 5Welcome Home30 min
Season 1Episode 6The Island30 min
Season 1Episode 7The Officer and the Lady30 min
Season 1Episode 8Knockout30 min
Season 1Episode 9Man on a Train30 min
Season 1Episode 10Trail's End30 min
Season 1Episode 11Sound Off, My Love30 min
Season 1Episode 12The Man in the Box30 min
Season 1Episode 13No Identity30 min
Season 1Episode 14The Man Who Walked Out On Himself30 min
Season 1Episode 15The Last Voyage30 min
Season 1Episode 16Night Ride30 min
Season 1Episode 17The Ladies On His Mind30 min
Season 1Episode 18Mr. Bingham30 min
Season 1Episode 19Shadowed30 min
Season 2Episode 1Finale30 min
Season 2Episode 2The Squeeze30 min
Season 2Episode 3A Place Of His Own30 min
Season 2Episode 4Love At Sea30 min
Season 2Episode 5The Witness30 min
Season 2Episode 6A Matter Of Advice30 min
Season 2Episode 7Out of the Night30 min
Season 2Episode 8Moorings30 min
Season 2Episode 9The Hard Way30 min
Season 2Episode 10For Art`s Sake30 min
Season 2Episode 11The Girl On The Park Bench30 min
Season 2Episode 12The Room30 min
Season 2Episode 13A Man Of The World30 min
Season 2Episode 14The Gift30 min
Season 2Episode 15House For Sale30 min
Season 2Episode 16The Test30 min
Season 2Episode 17The Bad Streak30 min
Season 2Episode 18A String of Beads30 min
Season 2Episode 19Indian Taker30 min
Season 2Episode 20Second Dawn30 min
Season 2Episode 21The Gun30 min
Season 2Episode 22The Bomb30 min
Season 2Episode 23Meet McGraw: Long Count30 min
Season 2Episode 24Detective`s Holiday30 min
Season 2Episode 25Operation In Money30 min
Season 2Episode 26Lady of the Orchids30 min
Season 2Episode 27The Book30 min
Season 2Episode 28A Study In Panic30 min
Season 2Episode 29Masquerade30 min
Season 2Episode 30Village In The City30 min
Season 2Episode 31The Doctor And The Countess30 min
Season 3Episode 1Man in the Cellar30 min
Season 3Episode 2Never Explain30 min
Season 3Episode 3Interlude30 min
Season 3Episode 4The Wallet30 min
Season 3Episode 5The Adolescent30 min
Season 3Episode 6The Contest30 min
Season 3Episode 7Vote Of Confidence30 min
Season 3Episode 8My Own Dear Dragon30 min
Season 3Episode 9Marked Down30 min
Season 3Episode 10Meet A Lonely Man30 min
Season 3Episode 11Bourbon Street30 min
Season 3Episode 12A Championship Affair30 min
Season 3Episode 13The Answer30 min
Season 3Episode 14Go Ahead And Jump30 min
Season 3Episode 15A Bag Of Oranges30 min
Season 3Episode 16Stuffed Shirt30 min
Season 3Episode 17Breakfast in Bed30 min
Season 3Episode 18The Good Sister30 min
Season 3Episode 19A Kiss for Mr. Lincoln30 min
Season 3Episode 20Fair Trial30 min
Season 3Episode 21The Wild Bunch30 min
Season 3Episode 22Tusitala30 min
Season 3Episode 23The Returning30 min
Season 3Episode 24Eddie`s Place30 min
Season 3Episode 25Henry And The Psychopathic Horse30 min
Season 3Episode 26Night At Lark Cottage30 min
Season 3Episode 27The Girl On The Bridge30 min
Season 3Episode 28The Collar30 min
Season 3Episode 29Madeira, Madeira30 min
Season 3Episode 30With All My Heart30 min
Season 3Episode 31The House Always Wins30 min
Season 3Episode 32Uncle Fred Flits By30 min
Season 3Episode 33Alias Mr. Hepp30 min
Season 3Episode 34Trudy30 min
Season 3Episode 35Broken Journey30 min
Season 3Episode 36The Executioner30 min
Season 3Episode 37The Frightened Woman30 min
Season 3Episode 38Award30 min
Season 4Episode 1The Firing Squad30 min
Season 4Episode 2The Face of Danger30 min
Season 4Episode 3Let the Chips Fall30 min
Season 4Episode 4Full Circle30 min
Season 4Episode 5A Spray of Bullets30 min
Season 4Episode 6The Devil to Pay30 min
Season 4Episode 7Here Comes the Suit30 min
Season 4Episode 8Looking Glass House30 min
Season 4Episode 9The Thin Red Line30 min
Season 4Episode 10A Place Full of Strangers30 min
Season 4Episode 11One Way Out30 min
Season 4Episode 12Dark Meeting30 min
Season 4Episode 13Magic Night30 min
Season 4Episode 14Tunnel of Fear30 min
Season 4Episode 15High Stakes30 min
Season 4Episode 16The Listener30 min
Season 4Episode 17Safe Keeping30 min
Season 4Episode 18No Limit30 min
Season 4Episode 19Command30 min
Season 4Episode 20Once to Every Woman30 min
Season 4Episode 21Red Wine30 min
Season 4Episode 22To Die at Midnight30 min
Season 4Episode 23Desert Encounter30 min
Season 4Episode 24The Case of Emily Cameron30 min
Season 4Episode 25The Rites of Spring30 min
Season 4Episode 26Autumn Carousel30 min
Season 4Episode 27Wall of Bamboo30 min
Season 4Episode 28Touch and Go30 min
Season 4Episode 29A Long Way From Texas30 min
Season 4Episode 30That Woman30 min
Season 4Episode 31The Other Room30 min
Season 4Episode 32One Forty-Two30 min
Season 4Episode 33Beneath the Surface30 min
Season 4Episode 34Watch the Sunset30 min
Season 4Episode 35Second Chance30 min
Season 4Episode 36Woman Afraid30 min
Season 4Episode 37The Stacked Deck30 min
Season 4Episode 38Distinguished Service30 min
Season 4Episode 39Yellowbelly30 min
Season 4Episode 40The Stand-In30 min
Season 4Episode 41Success Story30 min
Season 4Episode 42Something Very Special30 min