Keeping Up Appearances

Keeping Up Appearances (1990)

  • Genre: Comedy
  • Creator: Roy Clarke
  • First Air Date: 1990-10-29
  • Last Air Date: 1995-12-25
  • Total Seasons: 5
  • Total Episodes: 44
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 30 min.
  • Production Company: BBC
  • Production Country: United Kingdom
  • Networks: BBC One
star 7.6/10
From 104 Ratings


Keeping Up Appearances is a British sitcom created and written by Roy Clarke for the BBC. Centred on the life of eccentric, social-climbing snob Hyacinth Bucket, the sitcom follows her obsessive and determined attempts to impress in middle class society and portray herself as more affluent than she truly is. The show stars Patricia Routledge, who received two BAFTA nominations for her performance as Hyacinth. Broadcast between 1990 and 1995 on BBC One, the sitcom spawned five series and 44 episodes—4 of which are Christmas specials. Keeping Up Appearances was a great success in the UK and also captivated a large audience in the US, Canada, and Australia, but production ceased in 1995 when Routledge wanted to move on to other projects. Since its original release, all five series—including Christmas specials—are available on DVD. In 2004, the sitcom was ranked 12th in the countdown of Britain's Best Sitcom. It is regularly repeated worldwide.


Is Keeping Up Appearances on Disney Plus?

Unfortunately the series Keeping Up Appearances is not yet available on Disney Plus. Follow us on Facebook to see when Keeping Up Appearances becomes available on Disney Plus!

Keeping Up Appearances Seasons

Season 0

First Air Date: 1991-12-25
24 Episodes

Season 1

First Air Date: 1990-10-29
6 Episodes

Season 2

First Air Date: 1991-09-01
11 Episodes

Season 3

First Air Date: 1992-09-06
7 Episodes

Season 4

First Air Date: 1993-09-05
9 Episodes

Season 5

First Air Date: 1995-09-03
11 Episodes

Keeping Up Appearances Episodes

Title Air Date Duration
Season 1Episode 1Daddy's Accident30 min
Season 1Episode 2The New Vicar30 min
Season 1Episode 3Stately Home30 min
Season 1Episode 4The Charity Shop30 min
Season 1Episode 5Daisy's Toyboy30 min
Season 1Episode 6The Christening30 min
Season 2Episode 1A Strange Man30 min
Season 2Episode 2Driving Mrs Fortescue30 min
Season 2Episode 3The Candlelight Supper30 min
Season 2Episode 4Hyacinth Tees Off30 min
Season 2Episode 5Problems with Relatives30 min
Season 2Episode 6Onslow's Birthday30 min
Season 2Episode 7Singing for Emmet30 min
Season 2Episode 8The Toy Store30 min
Season 2Episode 9The Three-Piece Suite30 min
Season 2Episode 10A Picnic for Daddy30 min
Season 3Episode 1Early Retirement30 min
Season 3Episode 2Iron Age Remains30 min
Season 3Episode 3Violet's Country Cottage30 min
Season 3Episode 4How to Go on Holiday Without Really Trying30 min
Season 3Episode 5Richard's New Hobby30 min
Season 3Episode 6The Art Exhibition30 min
Season 3Episode 7What to Wear When Yachting30 min
Season 4Episode 1A Job for Richard30 min
Season 4Episode 2Country Retreat30 min
Season 4Episode 3A Celebrity for the Barbecue30 min
Season 4Episode 4The Commodore30 min
Season 4Episode 5Looking at Properties30 min
Season 4Episode 6Please Mind Your Head30 min
Season 4Episode 7Let There Be Light30 min
Season 5Episode 1The Senior Citizen's Outing30 min
Season 5Episode 2The Mayor's Fancy Dress Ball30 min
Season 5Episode 3Hyacinth is Alarmed30 min
Season 5Episode 4A Riverside Picnic30 min
Season 5Episode 5Skis30 min
Season 5Episode 6The Country House Sale30 min
Season 5Episode 7The Boy Friend30 min
Season 5Episode 8A Barbecue at Violet's30 min
Season 5Episode 9The Rolls Royce30 min
Season 5Episode 10The Hostess30 min
  • Patricia Routledge

    as Hyacinth Bucket
  • Clive Swift

    as Richard Bucket
  • Judy Cornwell

    as Daisy
  • Geoffrey Hughes

    as Onslow
  • Josephine Tewson

    as Elizabeth 'Liz' Warden
  • David Griffin

    as Emmet
  • Mary Millar

    as Rose
Production Harold Snoad Producer