Hornblower (1998)

  • Genre: Drama, War & Politics, Action & Adventure
  • First Air Date: 1998-10-07
  • Last Air Date: 2003-01-06
  • Total Seasons: 3
  • Total Episodes: 8
  • Status: Ended
  • Episode Runtime: 120 min.
  • Networks: ITV
star 7.4/10
From 13 Ratings


Set during the 18th century Napoleonic Wars, Horatio Hornblower, a young and shy midshipman, rises through the ranks to become an admiral.


Is Hornblower on Disney Plus?

Unfortunately the series Hornblower is not yet available on Disney Plus. Follow us on Facebook to see when Hornblower becomes available on Disney Plus!

Hornblower Seasons

Season 1

First Air Date: 1998-10-06
4 Episodes

Season 2

First Air Date: 2002-03-24
2 Episodes

Season 3

First Air Date: 2003-01-05
2 Episodes

Hornblower Episodes

Title Air Date Duration
Season 1Episode 1The Even Chance120 min
Season 1Episode 2The Examination for Lieutenant120 min
Season 1Episode 3The Duchess and the Devil120 min
Season 1Episode 4The Frogs and the Lobsters120 min
Season 2Episode 1Mutiny120 min
Season 2Episode 2Retribution120 min
Season 3Episode 1Loyalty120 min
Season 3Episode 2Duty120 min
  • Ioan Gruffudd

    as Horatio Hornblower
  • Paul McGann

    as William Bush
  • Robert Lindsay

    as Sir Edward Pellew
  • Paul Copley

    as Matthews
  • Sean Gilder

    as Styles
  • Julia Sawalha

    as Maria Mason
Production Vernon Lawrence Executive Producer
Production Delia Fine Executive Producer
Production Emilio Nunez Producer
Production Andrew Benson Producer
Production Michele Buck Producer
Writing C. S. Forester Novel