The Illusionist

The Illusionist (2006)

Nothing is what it seems

  • Genre: Fantasy, Drama, Thriller, Romance
  • Release Date: 2006-08-18
  • User Rating: 7.286/10 from 4529 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 50min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Contagious Entertainment
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Neil Burger
star 7.286/10
From 4,529 Ratings


With his eye on a lovely aristocrat, a gifted illusionist named Eisenheim uses his powers to win her away from her betrothed, a crown prince. But Eisenheim's scheme creates tumult within the monarchy and ignites the suspicion of a dogged inspector.


Is The Illusionist on Disney Plus?

Unfortunately the movie The Illusionist is not yet available on Disney Plus. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Illusionist becomes available on Disney Plus!

  • Edward Norton

    as Eisenheim
  • Paul Giamatti

    as Inspector Uhl
  • Jessica Biel

    as Sophie
  • Rufus Sewell

    as Crown Prince Leopold
  • Eddie Marsan

    as Josef Fischer
  • Aaron Taylor-Johnson

    as Young Eisenheim
  • Eleanor Tomlinson

    as Young Sophie
  • Jake Wood

    as Jurka
  • Tom Fisher

    as Willigut
  • Karl Johnson

    as Doctor / Old Man
  • Vincent Franklin

    as Loschek
  • Nicholas Blane

    as Herr Doebler
  • Philip McGough

    as Dr. Hofzinser
  • Erich Redman

    as Count Rainer
  • Michael Carter

    as Von Thurnburg
  • Andreas Grothusen

    as Eisenheim's Father
  • Brian Caspe

    as Eisenheim's Assistant
  • Ellen Savaria

    as Mrs. Uhl
  • Vítězslav Bouchner

    as Sophie's Driver
  • David O'Kelly

    as Archduke
  • Richard Rowlands

    as Archduke
  • Reuben-Henry Biggs

    as Frankel
  • Robert Russell

    as Spiritualist Leader
  • Noel Le Bon

    as Arrested Man
  • David Fellowes

    as Respectable Man
  • Jan Nemejovský

    as Senior Officer
  • Ivo Novák

    as Senior Officer
  • Vladimír Kulhavý

    as Train Conductor
  • Duke Faeger

    as Audience Member
  • Brendan Gunn

    as Audience Member
  • Ryan James

    as Audience Member
  • Petr Meissel

    as Audience Member
  • Jeff Smith

    as Audience Member
  • Ivan Urbánek

    as Audience Member
  • James Babson

    as Young Father (uncredited)
  • Jaroslav Vízner

    as Audience Member
  • Jiří Vacek

    as Audience Member
  • Noelle Trkulja

    as Audience Member
  • Anezka Novak

    as Audience Member
  • Alistair Macnaughtan

    as Audience Member
  • Nancy Bishop

    as Audience Member
  • John Early

    as Man on Street
  • Eva Kelemenová

    as Sobbing Woman
  • Alfred Strejček

    as Guard
  • Fasihiddin Khasanov

    as Boy Apparition in Audience
  • Jan Cibulka

    as Boy Apparition on Stage
  • Erdenbileg Sengee

    as Asian Assistant
  • Sondom Nararbadrakh

    as Asian Assistant
  • Cheng Feng

    as Asian Assistant
  • Purevdorj Boldsaikhan

    as Asian Assistant
  • Vadam Bat-Orshikh

    as Asian Assistant
  • Robin Ferenc

    as Street Urchin
  • Dominik Havelka

    as Street Urchin
  • Elias Bauer

    as Street Urchin Messenger
  • Thomas McEnchroe

    as Aristocratic Boy
  • Oliver Blaha

    as Aristocratic Boy
  • Laurie Athey

    as Aristocratic Boy
  • David Forest

    as Traveling Magician
  • Matthew Blood-Smyth

    as Man Who Incites Riot
  • Vanessa Gendron

    as Shouting Woman
Costume & Make-Up Ngila Dickson Costume Design
Sound Philip Glass Original Music Composer
Editing Naomi Geraghty Editor
Production Deborah Aquila Casting
Production Bob Yari Producer
Production Brian Koppelman Producer
Production David Levien Producer
Production Tom Karnowski Co-Producer
Production David Minkowski Co-Producer
Production Matthew Stillman Co-Producer
Production Nina Gold Casting
Writing Neil Burger Screenplay
Directing Neil Burger Director
Production Cathy Schulman Producer
Production Michael London Producer
Writing Steven Millhauser Short Story
Camera Dick Pope Director of Photography
Production Tom Nunan Executive Producer
Sound Rick Canelli ADR Recordist
Sound Mark L. Mangino Dialogue Editor
Sound Suzana Peric Music Editor
Crew Tomáš Červenka Cableman
Visual Effects Roman Tudžaroff Special Effects Supervisor
Art Ondrej Nekvasil Production Design
Production Tricia Wood Casting
Sound Alice Wood Music Editor
Costume & Make-Up Ivo Strangmüller Makeup Artist
Sound John Roesch Foley Artist
Art Stefan Kovacik Art Direction
Editing Arturo Sosa First Assistant Editor
Production Georgia Simon ADR Voice Casting
Sound David E. Campbell Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Gregg Rudloff Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound John T. Reitz Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Chris Miller Post-Production Manager
Sound J. Paul Huntsman Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Alyson Dee Moore Foley Artist
Visual Effects Vít Komrzý Visual Effects Producer
Directing Lori Wyant Script Supervisor
Crew Ladislav Lahoda Stunt Coordinator
Production Mira Husseini Publicist
Sound Michael Babcock Sound Designer
Visual Effects Viktor Müller Visual Effects Supervisor
Lighting Václav Čermák Gaffer
Costume & Make-Up Stephanie Hovette Wigmaker
Editing Kenny Becker Color Timer
Directing Jakub Dvorak Assistant Director
Visual Effects Gary Hebert Animation
Production Joey Horvitz Executive Producer
Sound Mary Jo Lang Foley Mixer
Art Vlasta Svoboda Art Direction
Art Petra Hábová Set Decoration
Sound Petr Forejt Sound Mixer
Directing Lucie Burianová Assistant Director
Crew Miroslav Lhotka Stunts
Costume & Make-Up Jan Archibald Hair Designer
Camera Glen Wilson Still Photographer
Crew Brendan Gunn Dialect Coach
Sound Roman Rigo Boom Operator
Costume & Make-Up Julie L. Pearce Makeup Department Head
Production Vaclav Eisenhamer Production Supervisor
Sound Scott Morgan Foley Recordist
Sound Thomas J. O'Connell ADR Mixer
Production Jane Garnett Executive Producer
Production Ted Liebowitz Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Denise Dellavalle Makeup Artist
Production Jirí Hrstka Extras Casting