E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial

E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial (1982)

He is afraid. He is alone. He is three million light years from home.

  • Genre: Science Fiction, Adventure, Family, Fantasy
  • Release Date: 1982-06-11
  • User Rating: 7.508/10 from 9850 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 55min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Steven Spielberg
star 7.508/10
From 9,850 Ratings


After a gentle alien becomes stranded on Earth, the being is discovered and befriended by a young boy named Elliott. Bringing the extraterrestrial into his suburban California house, Elliott introduces E.T., as the alien is dubbed, to his brother and his little sister, Gertie, and the children decide to keep its existence a secret. Soon, however, E.T. falls ill, resulting in government intervention and a dire situation for both Elliott and the alien.


Is E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial on Disney Plus?

Unfortunately the movie E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial is not yet available on Disney Plus. Follow us on Facebook to see when E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial becomes available on Disney Plus!

  • Henry Thomas

    as Elliott
  • Drew Barrymore

    as Gertie
  • Robert MacNaughton

    as Michael
  • Peter Coyote

    as Keys
  • Dee Wallace

    as Mary
  • Erika Eleniak

    as Pretty Girl
  • K.C. Martel

    as Greg
  • C. Thomas Howell

    as Tyler
  • Sean Frye

    as Steve
  • David M. O'Dell

    as Schoolboy
  • Richard Swingler

    as Science Teacher
  • Frank Toth

    as Policeman
  • Robert Barton

    as Ultra Sound Man
  • Michael Darrell

    as Van Man
  • David Berkson

    as Medical Unit
  • David Carlberg

    as Medical Unit
  • Milt Kogan

    as Medical Unit
  • Alexander Lampone

    as Medical Unit
  • Rhoda Makoff

    as Medical Unit
  • Robert Murphy

    as Medical Unit
  • Richard Pesavento

    as Medical Unit
  • Tom Sherry

    as Medical Unit
  • Susan Cameron

    as Medical Unit
  • Will Fowler Jr.

    as Medical Unit
  • Barbara Hartnett

    as Medical Unit
  • Diane Lampone

    as Medical Unit
  • Mary Stein

    as Medical Unit
  • Mitch Suskin

    as Medical Unit
  • Ted Grossman

    as Government Agent (uncredited)
  • James Kahn

    as Mustachioed Medical Unit Member who confirms E.T.'s death (uncredited)
  • Anne Lockhart

    as Nurse (uncredited)
  • Melissa Mathison

    as Elliot's School Nurse (uncredited)
  • Debra Winger

    as Nurse Zombie Carrying Poodle (uncredited)
  • Pat Welsh

    as E.T. (voice)
Sound John Williams Original Music Composer
Directing Steven Spielberg Director
Production Steven Spielberg Producer
Production Kathleen Kennedy Producer
Production Jane Feinberg Casting
Production Mike Fenton Casting
Production Marci Liroff Casting
Production Frank Marshall Production Supervisor
Visual Effects Robert Elswit Visual Effects Camera
Visual Effects Dennis Muren Visual Effects Supervisor
Sound Samuel C. Crutcher Sound Effects Editor
Crew Ted Grossman Stunts
Sound Richard C. Franklin Sound Effects Editor
Costume & Make-Up Deborah Lynn Scott Costumer
Writing Melissa Mathison Screenplay
Production Melissa Mathison Associate Producer
Camera Allen Daviau Director of Photography
Editing Carol Littleton Editor
Art James D. Bissell Production Design
Art Jackie Carr Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Robert Sidell Makeup Artist
Art Leslie Butcher Art Department Coordinator
Sound Charles L. Campbell Supervising Sound Editor
Crew Dale L. Martin Special Effects
Visual Effects Al Bailey Visual Effects
Crew Glenn Randall Jr. Stunt Coordinator
Directing Glenn Randall Jr. Second Unit Director
Crew Richard E. Butler Stunts
Crew Carlo Rambaldi Special Effects
Visual Effects Carlo Rambaldi Visual Effects
Art James Teegarden Set Designer
Sound Kenneth Hall Music Editor
Crew Bobby Porter Stunts
Crew Felix Silla Stunts
Production Richard Vane Location Manager
Production Bonne Radford Production Accountant
Crew Chuck Waters Stunts
Camera Bruce McBroom Still Photographer
Costume & Make-Up Lola 'Skip' McNalley Hairstylist
Production Jane Goe Assistant Accountant
Crew Bennie E. Dobbins Stunts
Sound Robert Knudson Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Robert Glass Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Lighting James Plannette Gaffer
Directing Daniel Attias Second Assistant Director
Sound Herbert W. Spencer Orchestrator
Sound Louis L. Edemann Sound Effects Editor
Sound Don Digirolamo Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Hank Salerno ADR Editor
Directing Esther Vivante Script Supervisor
Crew Lyla Foggia Unit Publicist
Crew John Feinblatt Transportation Captain
Sound Nicholas Korda ADR Editor
Sound Chuck Neely Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Gene S. Cantamessa Sound Mixer
Crew Fred Lerner Stunts
Camera Bob Munoz Best Boy Grip
Camera Gene Kearney Key Grip
Editing Donah Bassett Negative Cutter
Directing Katy Emde First Assistant Director
Camera Donald L. Hartley Dolly Grip
Crew Ramon Pahoyo Craft Service
Editing Robert Raring Color Timer
Art Russell Goble Property Master
Sound David Pettijohn Sound Effects Editor
Editing Dennis Brookins Negative Cutter
Editing Kathleen Korth First Assistant Editor